Recipes

Quinoa Protein Packed Soup

Good Afternoon everyone. Work has been quite hectic these days. We are currently in the midst of a software transfer, and it has proven to be more difficult than originally expected. Because of this, I have found myself with little time to dedicate to my blog as I would update it on my breaks/lunches, and I have been working through this to help with this transition.

I have also found myself completely run down and exhausted at the end of the day which is the combination of the stress of work and my poor eating habits there. I am not one to snack throughout the day like this, but I have recently been snacking primarily on potato chips and similar snacks and eating a lot of processed French fries to just power me through the day. I am a stress eater, and it has absolutely been showing the last few weeks.

So, what to do? At work, I am trying to be more conscience of what I am eating, but at home I am making more of an effort to eat well. And  protein packed food seems to be the best way to go about that. Let me introduce you to my super vegan protein soup.

Quinoa Protein Power Soup

Ingredients
Two packs of vegetable broth mix
-Three cups water
-1/2 cup quinoa
-half can chili beans
-quarter can pinto beans
-1 tbsp. oregano
-1 tbsp. lemon pepper
-1 tbsp. cumin
-1/2 tbsp. season salt

Directions
1. Add two cups water, vegetable broth mix, and quinoa to pot and bring to boil.
2. Bring down to low heat, and add pinto beans and chili beans
3. Add oregano, lemon pepper, and cumin to taste (chili beans are preseasoned and add most of the flavor to the soup)
4. Let cook on low to low-medium heat. When water looks “low,” add one additional cup of water
5. Add season salt to taste
6. Let cook on low heat for about 30 more minutes. Soup is then done and ready to serve. Makes three to four servings.

Leave a comment